We’re all just searching for something tangible. Might I recommend somewhere…else?

I’m feeling bored and in a list-making mood.  So, here you go:

Ten random things about me that you probably don’t care to know:

  1. Today I:
  2. -realized that I need to take more pride in my almost-6-foot status. Instead of hating on the fact that I – literally speaking, not figuratively – look down on everyone, I need to flaunt it.
    -created a Formspring account (in addition to the one I already have) just to see how many questions I could answer with the word ‘Formspring’ somehow involved. (I need more questions.)
    read a comic about an axe-carrying cop and laughed at a cat and a dolphin playing together.
    -really didn’t do much else. (I worked. But you really don’t care about that.)

  3. I’m feeling vaguely creative.  Maybe, just maybe, I’ll go over to Mara’s Weekly Writing Challenge and whip up a…erm, response.  Entry.  Whatever she wants to call them.
  4. I’m looking forward to getting my own, unfurnished place so that I can furnish it from the cheapest furniture I can find.  I want to see how it turns out.  If I can actually do it.  Also so that I can, for the first time in my life, put my own creative spin on where I’m living and really get the chance to make it my own.
  5. I recently bought a $10 water bottle from the school store that I absolutely ADORE.  It doesn’t leak!  A little expensive, perhaps, but now that I can put my water bottle in my bag and trust it not to leak, I use it all the time and it’s totally worth it.  I’m considering buying another.
  6. The only reason I would ever learn to drive is so that I can get animals.  More specifically, so that I could 1. be able to drive the animal(s) home and 2. be able to drive them to the vet, for example, should something disastrous happen to them.  Otherwise, I plan on living in big cities where I can use either my bike or my the subway.  Mostly the subway.  The bike is mostly for fun.
  7. When I’m watching a movie/video/TV show and the cameras close up on two characters kissing, I have to either look away or cover my eyes.  If the cameras back up and show them kissing but it’s a fullbody shot, I’m fine.  On that subject, I also get embarrassed for the characters if they do something stupid and that I would find embarrassing if I were to be in the same position.
  8. On the TV show Bones, I think my favorite of the rotating interns is Fisher.  Especially after that episode where Fisher got the free tickets for Avatar.
  9. A friend of mine is making me a mixed CD of some of her favorite songs and artists.  I’ve already made her mixed CD of some of my favorite and more obscure artists/songs.  I’m pretty excited.
  10. In a dream world?  I would get an art-related job, but have a Ph.D in cognitive psychology.  Like I said, dream world.  It’s more probable that I’ll get a job in the psychology department.  If I get a job using my BA at all.
  11. I’d like to have two cats – the idea being that they’ll amuse each other.  I’d name them either Helios and Luna or Chewbacca and Muffin.
  12. I really need to open up like this more often.  There was only one point – and it was the very first – that was so honest, I had to force myself to keep it.

EDIT: I posted that and then immediately started thinking up other things I could have written about.  Like how I hate Internet Explorer but I have to use it because everything else (Firefox, Google Chrome, even Safari) has gone to the gutters on me.  Or whatever the expression is.

9 responses to “We’re all just searching for something tangible. Might I recommend somewhere…else?

  1. I love lists. And I think it’s hilarious that you created a Formspring just to see how you can answer questions with Formspring in the answer. I’m might have to try to cook up some random questions and challenge you to answer them with Formspring in your answer. 😀

    No entry? Sigh. I think I might recycle all of the pictures for WWC that haven’t gotten entries and you can choose from whichever one you like. Hmm.

    I vote that, if you get two cats, you name them Chewbacca and Muffin. Cutest cat names ever. 😀

    • I love lists, too. Especially making them. And my fauxspring account amuses me too. I just want to know what questions I can’t relate back to formspring in some way. 😀 I look forward to any challenge you bring forth!

      No entry. 😦 I didn’t really see anything in the picture. Recycling sounds good. Now that I can actually see the pictures (flickr wouldn’t load here, and then it came back) maybe I’ll see a story in them. 🙂 Speaking of which, I have to check this week’s picture.

      My roommate came up with the names for the cats, actually. And the names were intially for hamsters. We never got the hamsters but now I want cats. And she wants a cocker spaniel. Neither of which will be happening for a while as neither of us drives but it will happen eventually. 🙂

      • Okay, I just noticed your subscribe thing in the sidebar, and it’s pretty much amazing. And really funny. 😀

        I’m glad you can finally see the pictures. 😀 Write something! I demand it. (Well… okay. Maybe I just plead. With puppydog eyes.)

  2. I just noticed your subscribe thingy. The text is great, but what really got me was the text inside the button. “The cool kids are doing it.” 😀

    And why is it that I do something, you comment on it, and then it appears on your blog 24 hours (or however long it’s been) later? First the list, now the cool/funny subscribe thing….ahh well. I guess I really can’t keep all this coolness to myself. It’s unfair to everyone else, I suppose. And I really shouldn’t blame you for me rubbing off on you.

    (In retrospect, the subscribe thingy might be a coincidence. I don’t know how long its been up there.)

    Maybe I will this week. I don’t really see a poem in this one though, I see a story. Combine that with the picture of the smoking guy…definitely a story. Prose, I mean. I almost have a narrative for the smoking guy, too. Almost. No plot, however. Hmmm…

    Oh. Wait. Scratch that. I might have a plot for this one. *giggles*

    • Haha, thank you. My subscribe thingy actually DID change after I saw yours, but it was because seeing yours reminded me I’d never redone mine after using a theme that messed up my widget text. So I’d had it say something funny, then changed my theme and forgot to reset the subscribe box’s autotext until I saw yours.

      Because you’re cool and I’m a copycat? 😀 Sort of. I love writing lists, I just hadn’t in a while and once again… you remind me of fun things to do. I hope you don’t mind too much.

      So what happened to that idea? With the smoking guy? (every time I say or read that, it makes me think “smoking hot guy” instead of… “smoking a cigarette guy.”)

  3. I’m glad I could be of service. 🙂

    “I hope you don’t mind too much.” What happens if I mind a little bit? Not that I do. Not at all, really. I’m just saying…

    “Hey, you totally stole my idea for a post! You copycatter!”

    “Yeah, sorry. I hope you don’t mind too much.”

    “It’s not a problem…”

    “Good.”

    “But I mind a little.”

    *considers* “Just a little?”

    “Just a little.”

    “WELL TOO BAD!” *evil laughter*

    😀 I amuse myself.

    Ehhhhh…I started writing it but hit a couple roadblocks (the primary one being that I simply wasn’t motivated to write it). It’s one of those situations where I know what needs to happen, I’m just having trouble starting it. I tried and it just didn’t feel right. So, for right now, it’s on a backburner until I get a better feel for the main character and for how I want to write it.

    When I say/read ‘smoking guy’, I actually think of the Mask cartoon that used to play years ago. “I’m SMOKIN’!” I loved that show.

    • Yeah, that’s pretty much what would happen. 😀 Especially the *evil laughter* part.

      I hate those situations, where you know what should happen but can’t get it started. That’s what is happening to me right now with My Beloved.

      I don’t think I was ever allowed to watch The Mask. I remember it, but I don’t remember *watching* it.

  4. Well, the thing is that even if I had written it, I’m not sure I would have posted it as the idea for it is more of a backstory for one of my characters. While that’s all fine and good, I don’t think it would have made for a very good stand alone story.

    However, just planning out the backstory helped me out. I understand that character just a little bit better. I think that’s the major problem, however. I haven’t written very many scenes with said character (okay, one scene) and I understand a little bit about him but I need more.

    I’ve been thinking about ‘The Day She Made Rain’ (not to mix comments here and get all confused, because I will do that) and the more I think about it, the more I think that I’m going to write something about it.

Leave a comment